Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people say that children should spend their spare time doing group activities while others parents feel that their kids should learn how to keep themselves occupied. In this essay, I will shed some light on both the views and give my own opinion. Engaging in group events is very beneficial to children. They would learn several valuable skills such as cooperation or team spirit when they play in a team sport. Children also learn the right attitude from being in a group. For example, when they get involved in a football team, they would know the importance of collaboration to win the match. The more children know how to interact with others, the more they enhance the confidence levels. On the flip side, spending time alone would give children the freedom of thought. The could learn to take up challenges and responsibilities. To keep themselves busy, children could read, draw or play an instrument. That might help them discover their hidden talents. However, children could take the wrong path and choose unproductive activities like sitting glued to television or socialising themselves on the internet. These practices do not help them at all. In conclusion, I would argue that the merits of participating in group building activities do outweigh the advantages of spending time alone.