Since the 18th century technological advance have replaced people in the workplace. with today's technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technological advances always have an impact on people at the task. Sometimes it can mean that people are no longer necessary in their jobs, but sometimes they make people work easier. We can define automation as scientific knowledge used for practical purposes in industry and commerce. I would also like to make a further distinction between this and high machinery, which is electronic or information technology. In my view, automation really began to have an effect on business in the early in the 20t century. The result of this was that certain industries like the car industry did not really need as many people, as automated machines and robots were able to do jobs such as painting the van, or putting the wagon together. However, if we now turn to look at the effect of high technology on the workplace, in my opinion, there has been a different effect. It is true that computers are able to do some things that people used to do and advanced in high machinery have made people's lives better through improvement in communication. For example, now we have e-mail, MSN and some electronic tool chat with friends or business partners. In addition, people working in services industries like banking use computers much more then conjunction used in comparatives than pen and paper nowadays. In addition, some job can be done from home, which means that people do not need spend time travelling and can work where and when they want to. In conclusion, technology has resulted in unemployment in some traditional industries like car production. On the other hand, in other industries such as services industries, machinery has improved the way the performance.