Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Health and fitness are a really important factor in someone's life. Many companies these days are providing gym and sports club's membership to encourage their workforce, this helps them to stay fit. Others think it is just a waste of money. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument. On the one hand, employers that do not provide these subscription think their profits can be used elsewhere, such as in bonuses and more incentives. For instance, some companies focus more on free healthcare than fitness centre membership. Furthermore, employees in some jobs are on a very strict schedule. It is believed that, if a person is given the subsidized plan of health centres, they will spend some amount of time there, which will reduce the number of hours worked. On the other hand, companies who do offer these plans what their staff to be healthy. This is because a healthy person is less likely to take sick leaves. For example, research has shown, if an individual exercises four times a week, the number of sick days are reduced by half. In addition, most of the employees do exercises in groups, which enhances their social skills. One of the good examples is Sales. People often look for gyms and sports clubs to increase their social circle. To conclude, if an employer does not offer fitness centre subscription they are harming themselves rather than saving money. In contrast, employers who provide these are at an advantage. They generally have a motivated and superior workforce.