Some people believe that the activities of a large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, one of the widely discussed issues is the actions of huge global companies are beneficial to countries with developing economies, while others believe that these companies have negative effect on the indigenous population of a country. Personally, I intend to consider that although multinational companies have some harmful impacts, overall they bring revenue to a country’ wider economy in which they do business. A growing body of research suggests that multinationals have a generally positive effect on economies of developing countries. It is undeniable that globalization has become an integral part of our life, for this reason international investment can help to create job opportunities for local people. This can lead to acclivity in the number of wages and also the declivity in the rate of unemployment. Taking Turkey as an example, employees of multinational companies earn around 15% more than staff of local companies. On the other hand, there are also negative impacts which must be considered. One important issue is that multinational companies can take customers from local companies. This means that some local businesses are likely to close down because of international corporations. A good in point is global chains such as McDonalds and Coca-Cola have a much larger budget for advertising, allowing them to increase their market share at the expense of local restaurants. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account I would suggest that multinationals can profit developing countries through creating jobs, they can also threaten small business. In my opinion, despite having some negative effect, I strongly believe that multinational corporations are generally beneficial.