Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this increasingly competitive society, high-level qualifications are considered to be more expected than life experience or personal qualities by some employers when they seek new candidates these days. There are many reasons for this, and in my opinion, this is a positive development. The main reason for this tendency is that academic degrees are considered a tool to measure the level of knowledge and capability of the person. To be more specific, to achieve a good degree in most universities, students need to pass many examinations focusing on testing their knowledge and take part in practical training courses. These factors ensure that students have gained sufficient in-depth knowledge in the field that the company is looking for. That is why recruiters place higher value on employers holding formal academic qualifications. Whereas, in terms of people having life experience or personal qualities, these people are likely to lack a suitable amount of academic knowledge in their field, and therefore, they need to be trained for a long time by employers. This results in the reluctance of employers to hire them for vacant positions. On the other hand, I suppose that this situation has two obvious benefits. Firstly, this trend would definitely motivate and encourage more students to pursue higher education. By attending universities, they can broaden their horizons and gain insights into their chosen fields that would help enhance their career prospects. Secondly, more people entering universities could make a great contribution to the society. To be more specific, the nation’s workforce will be significantly beneficial because of a large number of well-informed and educated citizens, which will have positive influences on the national economy. In conclusion, employers prefer people with better qualifications because qualifications are to prove that their holders are sufficiently trained at the university. I think that there are many positives for both students and society when employers place emphasis on formal academic qualifications instead of life experience or personal qualities.