A government's role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure, such as roads, water and power. All other services, such as education, health and social security, should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The unusual appearance of today’s buildings and construction has been a widespread concern for almost everyone with some claiming that such architectures are destroying our current living space, while others believe that they can possibly make our world more varied and interesting. This essay will discuss both sides of the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support the construction of bizarre architectures point out various advantages that these buildings can bring to a town or city. Foremost among them is that some of those structures have really become an iconic landmark, which attracts thousands of both domestic and international tourists on a yearly basis and add greatly to the growth of the local economy. Examples can be seen in many modern conurbation areas such as the Marina Bay Sands hotel in Singapore or the Sydney Opera House in Australia. Another argument is that such buildings symbolize the creativeness or imagination of human beings. Without these symbolic figures, our modern world would become more tedious and less captivating. On the other hand, opponents of so-called ugly up-to-date buildings often argue that such constructions might lead to the destruction of an inner city’s architectural planning. They highlight many cases where odd structures were supposed to add diversity and interest to a town, but failed entirely when the construction was finished. For instance, the Elephant Building in Bangkok was thought to become an outstanding feature of the city, but it turned out to be one of the ugliest structures in the world. In those circumstances, freestyle outlandish buildings could become a huge drawback to an urban area and in my opinion, it would be a waste of money if a structure does not achieve its original objective. In conclusion, there are contradicting views about the role of peculiar figures in our towns and cities, but it seems to me that the local council should take those constructions into meticulous consideration before making their final decision.