Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that requiring / asking an applicant to provide additional personal instruction such as hobbies or marital status is beneficial for the management; however, many people disagree with this view and claim that intelligence is useless and holds no value. This essay will elaborate on both points of view and present my opinion. On the one hand, there are grounds to believe that employers need more than just the professional knowledge to better assess their prospective candidates. With increasing emphasis on collaborative work culture and the need for every employee to fit into the team dynamics, collecting extracurricular and personal clue will help the firm select the right candidates and match them with the right opportunities. For instance, several applicants may be deemed fit for a marketing position based on their qualification and work history. Those among them having special interests in travelling and meeting people are certainly more suited for this position and an owner needs to ask about their hobbies to figure this out. Nonetheless, many of those who disagree with this argument doubt the authenticity of such message provided in the job applications. They believe that the job applicants tend to make up some hobbies and interests just to impress the employers. According to a survey conducted by a student group from the London School of Economics, only 40% of the respondents of a survey gave genuine answers when asked about their extracurricular interests. In conclusion, while some are still doubtful of the veracity / truthfulness of material provided by candidates for a job position, it is believed that collecting this type greatly helps an organization in better decision making. In my opinion, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages, and hence, the more report an entrepreneur gathers about an applicant, the better the decision making process will be.