The responsibility for the protection of the environment is by a transnational organization or every country?

Due to its devastating impacts, halting environment degradation has been one of the top priorities around the world. It is widely believed that such responsibility belongs to transnational organizations. While I do agree with the opinion, I suppose that local authorities should also join hands in such effort. It is undeniable that national governments hold the power to take concrete actions to protect the environment. The primary reason is that only the local authority of each country can have an insight into its own problems and the authority to devise feasible measures. For example, only government officers know exactly which part of the nation has its environment heavily damaged thus offer practical schemes to fix the situation. Therefore, governments, but not any other entity, should assume the duty to prevent their own environment from degrading. However, I am convinced that transnational organizations also play a crucial role inprotecting the environment. International institutions could enable multi- national cooperation on a large scale. As a result, more global actions could be taken with the participation of different countries. This, in fact, could guarantee sustainable and drastic impacts on our surroundings since environmental problems usually across borders and beyond the capability of any single nation to solve. For example, countries along the Mekong River, such as Vietnam, Laos, China, and Cambodia, have reached an agreement to establish a transnational entity named Mekong Committee with certain power to tackle issues related to the shared waters. The organization has successfully stopped plans to build hydro-power dams in China or Laos to prevent foreseeable detriments to water conditions in the lower Mekong countries. This case has illustrated the indispensable role of international entities in making vital environmental protection decisions in the context that nations are divided by their interests. In conclusion, each country’s authorities should bear the duty of keeping their countries from being environmentally degraded. However, it is the transnational organizations that play the deciding role with larger scale impacts.