Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

These days more and more people get into debt owing to the consumerism. While there are many factors which lead to this issue, there are also various ways to overcome this problem. This essay will outline the reasons why this situation is occurring, and explore some potential solutions to this issue. From an overall perspective, there are two main reasons why people buying things which they don't need. The primary cause of this is advertising. Advertising is often for products and services that we don't really need, which creates artificial needs. Secondly, people often buy things because of the image of power, wealth and glamour associated with them. The main problem is the lack of awareness of the serious effects that advertisement can have on people. However, there are a variety of viable solutions at hand to address this problem. In order to prevent people from adopting this dangerous behaviour, measures should be taken so as to raise awareness among people. Firstly, on an individual basis, people should learn budgeting. Keeping a record of income and monthly spendings would be really helpful and give to the persons an overall image on how their budget spent. Secondly, the banks should be more careful while offer a credit card to a customer. They should not provide credit cards to customers who have a low credit score. In conclusion, consumerism is a topic which is very relevant to modern society, but this problem could be easily avoided by being aware of this danger and having a rational attitude when dealing with money.