Technology has enabled the mass production of goods with the use of machines. Discuss the merits and demerits of mechanized production.

Technology has been grown in past few decades and become the integral part of human life. Industries are using the technology for the production of commodities is not an exception to this concept. Larger production houses have been adopting new technologies to generate items using machines. I will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks in the following text. The significant advantage is related to the standard of quality. Products that are generated through the machines are all same without any precision of error compared to the man-made produced items. Consumers buy the things with the assurance of being same quality and that can be achieved only through technology. Additionally, mass production is inexpensive and it takes less effort and time to produce objects. For example, the demand of mechanized products has been increased more than 60% from the past few decades because of their high quality and low cost. On the flip side, loss of initiatives and new developments is the major disadvantage using machines for large scale manufacture houses. Workers in the big factories are bound to do the same job in repetitive manner and due to that they have lost interest in any initiatives, so there are only few developments are happening in this area. At the same time due to excessive usage of machineries, demand of the people is less as one machine can do the job of hundreds of people. This leads to the loss of jobs for many factory workers and increment the unemployment rate. For example, the Guardian newspaper has reported that the unemployment rate in manufacturing units has been increased to 20% from the last few decades. In conclusion, production of materials on a larger scale using machines is a controversial issue. As discussed, there are major benefits to the introduction of technology in the factories for the bulk production. However, dull jobs and unemployment are the issues which can be overcome by utilizing these workers in the other areas of development. Despite of disadvantages, usage of mechanics in the industrial units has obvious advantages.