The most important factor in job satisfaction is salary. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is true that people usually opt for a high salary and do not choose satisfaction while selecting a job. Although remuneration is important, I believe, having good colleagues are also a fundamental aspect considered by many people while choosing a job. On the one hand, I agree, income from a job is a crucial factor often deemed by the employee when they choose a job to a certain extent. To elucidate, getting income from their work, employees are allowed to do expenses like food, housing, education and health care, which are increasing year after year. If an employee’s salary is not enough to meet the basic needs, their life will be extremely affected. For example, a recent article in the New York Times reported that despite having the unfavourable condition, the majority of Americans gave preference to salary option rather than satisfaction owing to the increasing cost of living. On the other hand, I also believe that friendly colleagues are too important to consider. This is because, often employees tend to wish to have a companion in the office who are co-operative and helpful all the time, and this increases their morale and enthusiasm toward their work. For instance, an article by the Indian Working Association in May 2019 stated that in spite of getting inadequate salaries from work, 30% of employees refused to change their jobs due to having amiable colleagues. This has resulted in focusing on their jobs. In conclusion, although undoubtedly salary keeps matter to a person in order to fulfil the basic needs, having a supportive colleague is also important as it allows them to continue with their current job.