Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Managers nowadays are more likely to contact their staff not only on normal work days but also on holidays. While this trend can have negative effects on employees, I believe that there are more benefits to this trend. Employees find it difficult to work without an adequate amount of off days. Many workers do not prefer to receive a phone call from their employers when they are at home or on holiday, because these phone calls bring them back to their workplace and drive their attention to the unfinished workload. Furthermore, holidays left employees unprepared to handle a task. The majority of people will find their day-off as a chance to regain energy to handle the new workload. It can, therefore, be disturbing and these may affect one mentally and physically. After the physical exertion and mental exhaustion from these extra tasks, a worker may appear inefficient in a company. However, some professions demand the ability to be able to contact their staff even on holidays. Perhaps the best example of this would be people who follow a medical or nursing career. Doctors and nurses should always be ready in case of emergencies, make decisions, and do quick surgery, allowing the patient’s life to be maintained in time. Another benefit of working on holidays for the employees is that they get paid for their overtime. By working on holidays, they contribute to the progress of their project and complete it early, and their reward will come earlier. Money transactions between business will be completed, thus allowing the employee to receive their salary sooner with their extra money as a result of their performance. In conclusion, although working can have several disadvantages for the employees, both the employers and their workers will benefit from getting their work done on holidays.