Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued by people that personal information ought to be excluded when applying for the job. However, other people say that it should be included when applying for the job. This essay will discuss both the views and also provide my opinion. On the one hand, including personal information can create discrimination among the candidates. For example, employers may want some who are single for a particular job; thus, they can make them work any amount of hours. Contrary, it won't be possible for a married person to work extra hours as they have family commitments to manage. Furthermore, adding this kind of information is entirely irrelevant to one's job duties as the capabilities should be measured by the qualifications and experiences and not by the person's interest in football or basketball. On the other hand, adding personal information such as hobbies or interests can help employers evaluate if that candidate will easily be integrated with the other company's personnel. For instance, nowadays every company takes their employees for a weekend trip for some leisure activities. Therefore, knowing one's interests and hobbies helps the employers decide what activities they should include in their company's outing. Moreover, hobbies and interests can also reflect if that person is passionate about other things, aside from work, as most companies believe in work-life balance. To sum up, I am of the opinion that personal information should be excluded from the employers' requirements as it can cause discrimination, which is a significant cause in today's modern world.