In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Some people have views that governments should install more cameras in public to increase security, while there are opponents who claims that it will limit their freedom. However, I believe that the impact of increasing video cameras is more likely positive. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why some people claim that the public camera in public have a negative effect. The first one is that governments may monitor public through these cameras, which violate our private. For example, a variety of things like what we ate, where we went and when we leave can be recorded through these CCTV. Secondly, what they consider is that these cameras may be used by criminals who are good at technologies. A good example of this is that a massive number of videos about privates are sold everyday on dark web such as the Silk Road. On the other hand, I personally agree with those who think that the advantages of increasing public cameras outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, there is no doubt that these cameras can deter those who want to rob or steal, because their action will be recorded. That is why cities with more cameras have less crime such as Beijing. Next, these public cameras can help the policemen to track or catch a certain person. For instance, in all cities of China, the Tian Yan Tong system, which is used for looking for the lost children or elderly, is based on these public cameras. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments about the benefits and drawbacks of public cameras, I believe that it is considerably beneficial to increase more public cameras.