Many people believe that teachers should take the responsibility for the students to judge what is right and wrong and behave well, while others feel that teachers should only teach academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the question of what should be taught at schools remains a controversy. While some people argue that teachers should instructs students to distinguish between the right and the wrong, others hold the view that academic subjects is of more importance. In my opinion, both of the views are equally valid for some reasons On the one hand, lessons about social behaviours have positive impacts on the development of students. Firstly, as more and more social evils occurred, if student are not equipped with the skill to see the difference between the right and the wrong, there is all likelihood of them getting involved in such activities. For example, the illegal drug trafficking is becoming more prevalent, therefore warnings and instructions from teachers at schools are vital in deterring students from engaging in this activity. Secondly, when students are armed with social disciplines, not only will they become wholehearted people but they also gain more success in their adult lives. Especially under woking environmental, with these skills, one would be trusted and receive more responsibilities, thus creating more promotion opportunities On the other hand, academic subjects are also a vital contributor to the students’ overall development. The first reason is that since the working market is becoming harsher than ever, only by having a profound knowledge of the expertise can students be ensured a well paid job in the future. In Vietnam, for example, students with a engineer degree will stand a higher chance of applying for highly paid jobs, thus enhancing their quality of lives. Another explanation for this is students would obtain certain skills through learning academic subjects like Math and Physics. For instance, Math lessons are known to sharpen the calculating skills, which facilitates students ’ jobs in the future such as the job of an accountant or a salesman. In conclusion, both of the views are equally right. Schools should combine the teaching of academic subjects and social behaviours so that students can reap the most benefits from their learning at schools