Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this increasingly competitive society, academic university degrees are considered to be more essential than hands-on experience by some employers when they seek new candidates. Although there are some underlying reasons for this, I still believe that this is completely a negative movement. There are two factors to explain why some job recruiters prefer university qualifications to life experience when recruiting new employees. Firstly, in many professions, formal academic degrees seem to be the top priority of many employers when selecting new applicants. In order to become a doctor, for example, a candidate has to acquire a great deal of medical knowledge at university as well as spend a lot of time to practice and carry out experiments. Secondly, this trend might be a great way to save time for employee recruiters. Compared to formal academic candidates who are likely ready to start working, employees may have to spend time on training non-academic applicants how to work properly. Therefore, this saved time can be used in other valuable ways. However, I think that this is a negative development and both academic and non-academic job hunters should receive an equal chance in the recruitment process. This is because many people decide to work right after school instead of starting tertiary education in order to gain life skills and practical experience. On top of that, after a long time of working in a real work environment, people are also capable of doing most assigned tasks without a formal academic education. The typical example can be seen in the case of Steve Jobs, a founder of Apple, who was the most successful person in the technology industry without holding any formal education in this field. In conclusion, this trend is attributable to two main reasons, and I believe that this is the negative progress for the above-mentioned arguments.