rising university fee and scare employment prospective graduates have led someone to say that university should not teach art subjects like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment.

The increasing cost of university tuition and insufficient graduate job opportunities, it is frequently argued that higher academic institutes should focus solely on degree courses which are practical rather than artistic subjects. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that these subjects can instil valuable critical thinking skill which is able to make beneficial contributions to society as a whole. First of all, taking humanity courses can help to develop critical thinking skill which is helpful to all area of fields. By learning these subjects, learners become more active thinkers who are able to make effective decisions, solve problems, think creatively. In addition, it is undeniable that these soft skills are essential to any careers such as politics, law, education. Due to the fact that studying art subjects will not help graduates find a rewarding job, however, it equips them employability. Furthermore, the master of art and history allows students to contribute significantly to the development of the country. This is because the knowledge of these fields is crucial to civilized countries. Without the understanding of history, we would unable to learn mistakes from the past which can reflect us at the present and in the future. For instance, the previous failure and success stories can be precious lessons for a new generation and motivate them to invent remarkable stuff like their ancestors. In conclusion, it is unreasonable that the social subjects should not be taught in universities, since it has developed graduate some essential soft skills which are necessary for practical working. In my opinion, I recommend that the artistic subjects should be available to all students.