Interview forms the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree?

Judge a personality in a short span is many times unfair. Therefore, I completely agree with the statement that the recruitment process needs to modify or change. Firstly I will discuss why the interview is not a reliable method to employ someone and in the latter half, I will discuss alternatives to the interview process. Judging someone in a short span of 15 mins to one hour may not always be reliable. There may be a situation where they are under pressure they can not deliver as efficiently as they could in normal conditions. In many cases there is a difference in perspectives, Interviewee may have a correct perspective but does not match with the interviewer's perspective leads to rejection. Our interview processes have become so conventional that many banal questions have been asked since many times and have no relevance in the process. To elaborate more on the aforementioned details, we have many successful entrepreneurs today that were rejected in their past by many companies, for example, Jack maa from Alibaba, bill gates Microsoft. All of them had the potential to be such successful leaders but were rejected because of our unfair interview process. There are many ways one can decide whether a person is suitable for this job or not. As the importance of technology and skills have increased, the interviewee should be asked to prepare a presentation of all the achievement of their and elaborate it. There should not be any time limit to present the same. After the presentation, there should be some follow-up questions on the same presentation. At last, the interviewee should be given a relevant practical task that requires experience and skills. To conclude, I believe that the selection process we have today needs to be changed as it judges the suitability of the job in such a short span.