The reason that most people are in debt is the overuse as well as irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks ought to do a background check and only issue credit cards to individuals who have the ability to pay back their debts. What is your opinion?

Live today and pay tomorrow has become the mantra for most millennials. I strongly agree that plastic money and its over-selling to impressionable youth, without proper monitoring of credit history and repayment capacity has contributed to most individuals heading towards a financially insecure future. My essay will highlight two major points that will support my hypothesis, firstly why the younger generation today is misusing banking facilities and secondly, how the banks are furthering their cause by taking undue advantage of the situation. We are living in stressful times where the shiny new toy today is old news tomorrow. The generation today has been habituated to get their needs met instantaneously. Take for example if they want to eat a Tiramisu; they know a simple click on their smartphones will get them what they desire. Ostentatious displays are enabled by social media and they have us craving for more just as we scroll down our newsfeed. A magical card answers all your problems with a single swipe motion, for the youth of today this is what dreams are made of; pay later yet enjoy the fruits today. On the other hand, the banks are business houses who hear the cash register ringing when another individual defaults payment for the second month in the row. Banks need to have more stringent controls and background checks in place before approving a credit card application. Unfortunately, rather than regulating their processes these financial institutions are ready to bump up your limit or offer you a credit card at the next call. I would like to summarize by saying that both individuals and banks need to be more responsible when handling credit facilities, the next recession is never too far along. I thus agree in entirety with the statement.