People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

These days, sugar-based drinks become more popular and showed increased in consumption among people. This essay will examine some of the main causes and possible solutions to overcome this trend. There are two main reasons for increasing consumption sugary drinks, commercial advertisements and different sweet flavours. Many celebrities and famous people have been advertising to drink companies in Television shows or video clips. For instance, Michael Jackson during his fame had a brilliant advertisement for Pepsi-Cola drinks, while he was dancing and singing with his magical voice. Because of that, his huge number of fans imitated him directly, especially teenagers. In the other hand, nowadays, there are many different kinds of drinks in the market with a variety of flavours by adding sugars and colours. In other words, competitive markets had a close eye upon the new generation, and they understand their interests and their demands. For example, some drinks like Freeze become increasingly popular because of its unique colour, although it has artificial sweeteners and dies. Thus, people become addicted to sugary drinks and drink it more often, and it becomes a habit rather than sugar addiction. Despite the increasing consumption of these drinks, there are possible solutions to overcome this phenomenon. Firstly, promote awareness in the community and alarming people of its effect on their health. Educational advertisements can play a major role in delivering the right information about how harmful these drinks for humans health, for example. In addition, schools and camps can have a positive effect on students, by teaching and explaining the huge amount of sugar in these drinks and some diseases related to consumption sugar-based drinks for a long time. Secondly, raising the prices of sugary drinks and products could be very useful and convenient. people may tend to change their habits due to high cost on their budgets and may think twice before buying any sugary drinks or may replace it by a fresh juice. In conclusion, commercial advertisements by some singers, actors and social media famous people have a massive impact on people and influence them to drink more sugary drinks. Moreover, many people like to try new sweet flavours and sometimes become addicted to sugars. But with considerable raising in the price of these drinks and educational advertisements, people could be more aware of these sugar-based drinks negative effect and become more healthy.