A government’s role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

Many believe the infrastructure and the army should be the only area that the government have to look after. Whereas private sectors or individuals should be able to take care the nation’s education, health and social security. This essay disagrees to the segregation of duties between government officials and private business to care for the nations’ well-being. It is clear that the costs for enabling the army facilities and infrastructure are much higher than all other services. Moreover, with excluding the smaller size services in the government budget, the officials will have more funds to purchase more advance equipment for the defense force and build better roads and water supplies to support the country. For example, in China, the federal budget put a large allocation to the advancement of machinery in their army. However, some beg to differ, as leaving the education, health, and social security in the hands of private businesses or individuals in the community. There is a possibility where they can commercialize these important facilities for their own profit than putting the society’s well-being at heart. This possibility has to be considered because even though these services seems insignificance to a country’s growth but investing in creating better public facilities is just as importance as maintaining its reputation to the world for having the greatest defense technology. Canada would be a prime example, where the authorities assure their citizens have an opportunity to pursue their ambitions by providing free education up to tertiary level. This resulted in more educated Canadians who can contribute to build a better future for their country. In conclusion, although optimizing the government budget to the services that are providing an apparent result that can be compared to other countries, the officials have to consider the long-term benefits in investing in their people as well. Thus, a wise judgement in making a balance national’s budget is needed. A great realization has to be understood that building a nation is not only a government matter but all citizens as well.