The most essential component of a person's life is his or her time at the workplace, and life turns meaningless once no job satisfaction is obtained. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the time people spent at their workplace plays a crucial role in their lives. Therefore, some individuals hold a belief that humans will not feel any sense of meaning, if there is no job satisfaction. In my opinion, although this can be true for some people, I mostly disagree with this notion because one can still find life’s meaning without any job satisfaction. On the one hand, there are some reasons why people can lose hope in their lives because of no job satisfaction. The main reason is that they have devoted themselves to their careers since the beginning of their job and always hope for auspicious outcomes such as promotion and recognition in their workplace. As a result, it would be disheartening to realize that their effort is not appreciated by their employers, if they were not given a chance to climb up their career ladders after 10 years of working. Another reason is that for some individuals who are from disadvantaged backgrounds, their sole aim at work is to earn a lucrative income to cater for their families’ basic demands. Therefore, when their goals are not met, they will feel disoriented, which leads to dissatisfaction in their lives. On the other hand, I still believe that despite all the dissatisfaction at work, one can still feel a sense of fulfilment from their families and close friends. Having quality time with their family enables people to enjoy their lives to the full. This is because they can get all worries off their chests and receive encouragement from other family members, which relieves their emotional burden. In addition, intimate friends can offer one some solutions to tackle the problems. For example, if skilled workers cannot break the glass ceiling barring them from getting promoted in a company because their competency is not valued, they can ask their congenial friends for other positions in other corporations. In this case, their close friends can suggest some companies that suit their strengths and allow them to put their skills and knowledge to good use. This makes their lives become meaningful because of their friends who are always by her side and an opportunity to get a promotion. In conclusion, I almost disagree with the statement that life turns meaningless when there is a lack of job satisfaction. I believe that one can still seek happiness from their family and friends because these people can help them release negative emotions and support them in their work.