In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

To get a dream job, it is essential to possess both kinds of knowledge-theoretical as well as practical. In Europe,there are many educational institutions who focuses on providing skills to the students aged between 11 to 13 years so that they can get a better work. However,still there are schools who prefer delivering academic qualification to the children. This essay will focus on the role that a school plays in preparing the students for their future work place. It is very essential for a child to have an effective academic background to pursue his career specially in professions like doctors and lawyers. However, soft skills are much more important in almost all job categories these days. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the school to ensure that more practical lessons are part of their teaching curriculum. The first and foremost criteria is to make students learn the interpersonal skills such as team work. Working in teams is a new normal these days and almost every organisation practise it and believes that all the employees should be well versed with the skill before hand. Therefore,educational institutions should encourage team building activities among children such as disscussing in groups and then draw a conclusion among them. More and more sports activities like football,cricket should be emphasized. Therefore, strong interpersonal skills is the need of the hour. The other important area to focus on is effective communication skills both for speaking and writing. If an employee possess good speaking and writing skills he can outperform in his job. Basic conversation and business writing lessons should be part of the school subjects. For instance, they must be asked to prepare a presentation on any relevant topic and speak at leanth in front of the audience. To conclude, academic learning is a useful tool, but exceling in other skills required for work is very essential as well.