Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

Some people argued that a percentage of high-level positions should be fixed for female in companies. The reason behind their thinking is that even though in many countries women constitute more than half of the workforce, they are not working at the top positions compared to the male. It is not agreed that companies should allocate a fix proportion to the women for high-level positions. Firstly, this essay will discuss the requirements to fill up the managerial level positions and secondly, will discuss the fact that some sectors are unsuitable for female workers; followed by a reasoned conclusion. A good reason for not distributing a certain percentage of high-level positions to female is that any job should be offered based on the qualification of a candidate rather than the gender. If a company allocates certain positions to women by considering the gender rather than the valuation of work and experiences, then this decision will create dissatisfaction among male workers. This will have a detrimental effect on the company’s productivity. For example, in 2009 when Microsoft made a decision to promote at least five female executives in a year, then male executives gave resignation and sue a case against that decision, which hurt the company’s sell and reputation. Another point to consider is that women cannot work in all job sectors. This is because their physical structure does not allow them to work in all types of work. Moreover, they are more prone to sexual harassment, which demotivates female workers to work every type of job. This is illustrated by the fact that in the defence, women cannot occupy pertain or equal proportion of high-level post because they cannot present in a battlefield like male armies immediately due to having family pressure. In conclusion, this essay does not support the idea of allocation of a certain percentage of top-level positions to the women because positions should be offered based on the qualification and women are not suitable to join every field.