Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, many people end up borrowing money from other people or even financial institutions because they are regularly buying extravagant purchases for exorbitant prices that they are not able to afford. There are a number of solutions to tackle this problem. First of all, due to the desirability of cutting-edge technology provided by computers and cellphones we have the possibility to purchase any kind of items we want just by searching websites and pressing one simple button. I strongly believe that being able to buy new products online is the main reason why people are constantly getting into debt, mostly because of how easy and comfortable online shopping is. That being said, I also understand that there are a percentage of people who still do not appreciate online shop because they are computer illiterate or not tech-savvy. However, there are two different ways to solve the problem, one of them is teaching financial education in high school, where teenagers can develop the ability to control their own money and understand how huge and important the responsibility of calculating their expenses can be. Furthermore, another way to address the issue could be by changing the exaggerated consumption of our modern consumerist culture that is rooted in most countries. The government should lead the society towards a different path of less expenditure and more saving. The implementation of these solutions should be an effective way to eliminate the issue. In conclusion, having financial education in high schools will teach students an essential life skill which will make them more conscientious consumers. The government must ultimately take responsibility and harness a culture lesss focused on frivolous spending are two examples of ways to deal with the problem.