Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Automation has taken over the world. It is argued that advanced technology is mainly responsible for the high jobless rate. However, I partially agree with the above statement and I will explain why throughout this essay. On the one hand, the use of modern computerization has replaced the traditional way of doing businesses. E-commerce has removed the need of a middle man when doing a business and created a direct link between the buyer and the seller. As a result of that many occupations have been replaced by modern industrialization. For instance, my sister lost her job recently because her workplace opened a virtual store and she is struggling to find work because her skills are not matched with new tech devices. Thus, high tech era has caused many job losses to society. On the other hand, many people were managed to get career opportunities as a result of using e-businesses. It is a fact that Artificial Intelligence needs human contribution to operate and without people,mechanization cannot survive 100%. As a result of that, there is a high demand for jobs such as software developers, technicians. For example, a friend of mine was employed by a famous tech company as soon as he finished his degree because he has a lot of technical knowledge about electronics. Thus, automation can actually reduce the unemployment rate. To sum up, it can be said that automation is mainly responsible for the workless rate though I believe that the use of electronic devices for business has created many job opportunities.