Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

A fraction of the population holds the notion that it is very useful and relevant to ask personal information when applying for a job, like hobbies and interests, marital status and so on. Whereas the opponents propound that, it is irrelevant. This essay would delve into both viewpoints and try to arrive at a rational conclusion. In this modern era, organisations are in a high competitive. So strategies of job recruitment play a vital role in making them successful in today's rat-race. In addition, with the unparalleled development of technology has opened a new window of opportunity for the people to acquire different skill sets, in turn, most of the professionals have numerous skills and abilities. So asking personal information drives greater importance not only for employers but the applicants as well in a great extent. Moreover, for some jobs, it is very essential to know the proposed employ's passion and some other information. For instance, there are some jobs such as, a home nurse, baby sitter, cabin crew, the often consider sex or marital status. Nevertheless, although asking private information about job applicants has some advantages, it's drawbacks should not be overlooked. Firstly, asking such criteria may lead to some personal bias. Some employers tend to choose the person as per their viewpoint. It may dwindle the chance of any skilled worker. Secondly, selection department may feel aversion towards checking of each application as it contains a lot of unnecessary information. Finally, reliability is another major demerit of seeking personal information. Job seekers would be a tendency to write more and more hobbies as they think that is the way to impress management. Especially nowadays most of the professionals are unemployed or under-paid and they are in pursuit of lucrative jobs. In short, personal bias, overfilling application form are the disadvantages of providing personal information, even though, it is the best way to find out appropriate workers. Ergo, I strongly believe that it's positives outshine its negatives.