Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should take responsibility for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that protecting the environment is the government's responsibility, others believe that individuals should take responsibility for it. I strongly believe that there is a shared responsibility. On one hand, the government should protect the environment by promulgating laws and rules that can effectively preserve our ecosystem. on the other hands, people should act to reduce their environmental impact when is possible. Firstly, road traffic is one of the major causes of pollution inside cities, thus governments should act in order to reduce the amount of traffic in cities by creating new bicycle path and by expanding their public transport network. By doing this, more people will choose to travel by bus or metro instead that moving with their cars. Moreover, they should incentivise the electric car as studies suggest that the problem of pollution inside cities could be solved. For example, Oslo, in Norway by 2030 will be the first city in the world where no cars will be allowed on roads. That could improve air quality and could lead to a better lifestyle for citizens. Secondly, it's noticeable how individuals and people are always more active to protect our lands and oceans. Nowadays there are a huge number of international organizations that are concretely trying to tackle this problem. To cite an example, in recent years always more people choose to join a group to clean the beaches and lands from plastic and other pollutants. By doing this, we could preserve our planet and try to reduce the unhealthy effects of pollution. To sum up, I believe that both governments and individuals need to pay more attention regarding this problem by doing research and developing new technologies as if we continue to pollute and destroy our ecosystem the consequences would be catastrophic.