Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A good basic education for children is one of the keys to the prosperous development of a country. Although some people believe that this is also a good moment to add adult responsibilities and practical skills during this stage of growth, I tend to disagree with this statement. One of the reasons is that schools have already an immense quantity of contents for students to apprehend, such as academic subjects, sports and social organization. Games and group activities are important enough to teach practical skills in a generic way, allowing them to learn holistically. When groups gather themselves and establish rules and goals, they are already learning the most basic social dynamics for life. Another argument is that some of the practical exercises might include dangerous and complex tools. When young, they do not have enough strength to manoeuvre heavy machines, such as cars. They can do harm if children try to apply the exercises, even more without supervision. Lastly, childhood is a precious stage for growing imagination, the ability to explore subjective thinking and being protected in a safe space. It is a dear and unique age in life to explore freely without serious responsibilities and consequences. The grow-up world can limit this development in order to achieve objective goals and children should not be used as a working force. To sum up, learn practical skills might be useful but they can also be overwhelming and dangerous for healthy personal development. Children have the right to start their learning with safe exploration and security.