Parents, usually mothers, give up work, choose to stay at home and look after families. Some people think the government should give them salary. Do you agree or disagree. Give reasons from your own knowledge and experience.

Ensuring the health and wellbeing of children is very critical to every nation’s future. That is why some people hold the opinion that a parent (usually mother), who quits her job to look after the child should be remunerated by the government. I agree that government should support stay-athome stay-at-home mothers for the first few years until the child starts going to school. The most important argument for the state funding of stay-at home mothers is the aging demographic trend. This is because many women are delaying motherhood or are choosing not to have children as it may impact them professionally and financially. So, in future there will be a very small population of workers and consumers to drive the economy of the nation forward. The government must ensure that this relative shortage of children, who are the future workforce, does not occur. Giving salary to the stay-at-home mother would encourage many young couples to have children. Secondly, the child ’s upbringing is best done by the parent. Only the parents can give their child a loving, stimulating and stress free environment. Neurological research shows that early years play a key role in children ’s brain development. The emotional, social and physical development of young children has a direct effect on their overall development and the adult they will become. So, if the government pays the parents who give up their career to care for them, it should be considered as an investment for the future success of the society. However, this support by the government should only be till the child starts going to school. After a child starts going to school, the mother should go back to work, as their contribution to the workforce is also very important. Women have the education and talent to work. If they don’t go back to work, the nation loses the services of half of its workforce. To sum up, I reiterate my opinion that investment in the health and wellbeing of children is the best and most valuable long-term investment that any government can make, and giving salary to stayat stay-at - home mothers is one good way to do so.