Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Monetary transactions are a constant life part of our life and to do that we either exchange currancy or swiping our cards. These days opting for credit or debit cards instead of actual money is increasing popularly, however this can have both positive and negative implications. This essay will discuss that while this can be beneficial to the customer and the seller, it does have some limitations as well. Certain advantages makes plastic money a preferable choice for people. This includes not only the convienece of carrying cards arounds around as opposed to mutiple notes but also there are always added benefits from companies who provide these cards. For most people it is difficult to carry large sums of money without worrying they maybe robbed or might lose it, so having to carry just one card makes it easier and less stressful. Furthermore most banks offer additional offers like a discount on fuel, restaurants and even travel tickets. Therefore these advantages makes plastic money desiarable for users. On the other hand, there are a few shortcomings associated with debit and credit cards as well. They can be misused if they get into the wrong hands, moreover if not regualted it can cause a financial problems to the banks. In 2010 maximum robberies had taken place not through break-ins but instead through credit card fraud. Such challenges have often occured when not using actual banknotes. The debate about currency versus cards for payments will always continue, as there will forever be some favorable and non favorable attributes associated with it. This essay discussed both the pros and cons of such forms of money.