Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In this modern era, it has been seen that individuals are owning an increasing number of vehicles which is the cause behind traffic jams. There are many reasons for buying a car like easy commuting without waste of time and money and to earn status in society. However, the government can take remedial measures to minimise the problem of traffic jam which is discussed below in this essay. To commence with, in today’s society each and every family own at least one vehicle. They purchase it for the purpose of quick commuting because they do not want to avail alternative forms of transportation for the purpose of saving money and avoiding wastage of time to reach their destinations on time. Moreover, some people prefer cars for a good status in society. By following other people, they also feel the need to buy a car for themselves. However, this results in a traffic jam which is one of the most severe problems in the city. With an increasing population, the number of car ownership is increasing rapidly which needs to be minimised because apart from traffic jams it would also create other problems like global warming, breathing problems in human beings as a result of pollution. However, the government can take necessary steps to disallow people from using their own vehicles. Firstly, the government should bring in a policy of using cars according to the odd and even policy which means that the number plates containing an odd letter at the last should be used on specific days in a week followed by an even letter on the number plates to be used on alternative days. This would discourage individuals to use their cars on a regular basis. Secondly, the prices of fuel should be increased to a certain level. As a result, it will save excessive usage of fuel which would also save the world from fuel crisis one fine day and encourage people to not use their cars on a regular basis. Lastly, alternative forms of transport like underground metro’s, local train services should be introduced in all parts of the city with cheaper fares and faster communication. This would motivate people to avail such benefits without relying on their own cars. For instance, in Japan, the train services are so advanced and cheaper that their netizens rely on such medium of transportation without using their own cars, as a result of which there are fewer traffic jams in the city. To summarise, although an increasing number of cars has become a disadvantage for the number of traffic jams in most of the cities, the government by its necessary steps like the introduction of the scheme of using cars according to odd and even policy, increase in the prices of fuel and introduction of underground metro’s and local train services in all parts of the city with low fares and quick transportation can reduce the problem of traffic jams in different cities.