Some employers offer their employees subsidized member of gym and sport clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of his possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

In today's modern world of technology, most of the work is being done by machines adding more sedentary lifestyle in an individual's life. Most of the employees are spending a major amount of time in front of the computers and other electronic machines, leading to more health issues like back pain, neck pain, low muscle strength etc. To overcome such issues, a few organizations are providing facility rebate on various sports clubs and gym. Although it is very helpful, this needs additional hours to stay in office. On the contrary, other organizations don't support this agenda as this needs an additional cost to build the infrastructure. Hence, it is not about providing gymnasium and other physical activity means to employees, rather the company should focus on providing time to do this. Gym and other sports clubs help individuals to perform some physical activity to keep themselves fresh and active. But in return, the employer demands them to stay long hours in the office. This culture is disturbing the work-life balance. For instance, my previous organization used to encourage the employee to utilize the gym and other sports court facilities provided in the office. However, my manager kept me so busy with my work. Still, even if I manage to go to the gym, the next day, I had to face the repercussion of this. Hence could not take benefits of these facilities. In addition, the employer can provide limited access to these services. Few employees who are health and fitness-oriented need a personal trainer to address their needs. Therefore, It is not possible for an employer to provide extended services for these employees. However, these facilities help their subordinates to be fresh and active, still not enough for them to reach the mark. Moreover, this is not beneficial for the employer too, as they are paying for this additional infrastructure which is not utilized by everyone to a great extent. In conclusion, the idea to provide the physical fitness methods inhouse in the workplace or a concession on these services is a great initiative but demands extra cost from the organization which is not utilized fully by all the employees due to time constraint or other priorities. So, I believe, it is better to give fitness incentives and make the work hours strictly limited to 8 hours so that employee can take benefit of this.