As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

We live in an age where the profession is the essential component of individual welfare as a considerable portion of a person life is devoted to the workplace. This essay will firstly describe the salary package as an important element towards job contentedness and secondly about getting promotions without taking into account the stipulation which results in an unrealistic expectation for the jobholders. The first factor that plays an important part in the work satisfaction of an individual is a good salary package. High pay allows the employees to enjoy life as per their own whims and fancies. Particularly fulfilment of needs, a better standard of living and providing good education to their education are some of the basic requirements. Employees that are happy with their work are always more productive and dedicative. They not only perform their duties wholeheartedly but also with complete integrity. Research has found that around 80 percent of people those switched their job were unsatisfied due to less pay scale. However, there are many over expectations of jobholders had been proven unrealistic which are impossible for the employers to meet. Especially the desire of promotion which is hard to make it happen for the post provider only for sake of satisfaction. Promotions are made on execution of minimum required criteria which includes but not limited to the good profile, capability, overall achievements, teamwork, cooperation are some of the calibres which is usually considered while promoting an employee. To illustrate, one of my colleagues working as an Assistant Manager in a reputed automobile company had left the spot only because of disapproval of up-gradation to the post of Manager by the owners of the company. To conclude, there are numerous elements that contribute to an individual’s satisfaction among which remuneration is crucial. Whereas, such expectancy must be pragmatic and rational.