Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Employers are always seeking ways to enhance their staff's productivity and subsidizing healthy pursuits may be one way to achieve their goals. Yet, some employers argue and opine that there are not many advantages for promoting these subsidies. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion will be discussed in conclusion. On the one hand, it might be said that if the employees are healthier and less stressed, their working time will be more efficient which will lead to higher levels of output and better service. Furthermore, the work-life balance of the workers will be improved because their leisure time will be more fulfilling. This may be more motivation than pay increments, perks or incentives which may be hard to attain. Consequently, feeling healthy can bring job satisfaction which is in itself a motivating factor. Conversely, the problem with such recreational based activities is that their efficacy is virtually impossible to quantify. For example, target-related payments enable employees to understand whether their objectives have been achieved or not? Moreover, it is also possible that if this budget was spent on for instance job training or day release programmes, the staff would achieve better job progression and have the best job prospects. Not only this but these matters are easier to measure, especially in performance reviews and appraisals and may even help to reduce the risk of redundancy if the company restructures, downsizes or outsources its workforce. In conclusion, it is clear that while the health-related budget is superficially attractive, the lack of measurability is a substantial drawback. Spending funds on ongoing training would appear to be a preferable use of the company's sources.