As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction for all workers? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Nowadays, most people devote considerable time to their work during adulthood. There is no denying that the work contentment could increase the feeling of wellbeing. In order to shed more light on this issue, it is necessary to know what factors influence employees’ career fulfilment and also how the feasible expectation of job contentment for workers has. There are three factors which affect job satisfaction. To begin with, a great chance of getting a promotion motivates employees in their career. This means if getting a higher position, the employee perhaps commands a generous salary to maintain a quality life. What is more, having the deal company’s policies such as health insurance, flexible working hours, travel allowance or leaves could protect the worker's fundamental rights. For example, a worker who has a family needs to go to the office late because he or she needs to take their children to school. In addition, a good relationship with colleagues and supervisors plays a paramount role in the working environment. In other words, if the workers could get along well with their colleagues, a comfortable and harmonious atmosphere could be created at the working place, and then the workers are likely to improve their working productivity at the same time. However, the truth is that the company policy is difficult to content every worker, and job satisfaction should not be taken into account for workers. Everyone has different needs and achievements in their lives. In terms of salary, in the same workplace,some workers probably would like to work overtime in order to make more money but others do not need to. Furthermore, some employees are not acting as supervisors which carry a lot of responsibilities and have heavy workloads even though the position has successful prospects. For instance, most civil servants consider the benefit of working in the government is a stable wage instead of having a beneficial working environment or promotion policy. As has been shown,there are different factors affecting the work content and it is difficult to find the fact that all people could be satisfied with their working environment. In conclusion, although job satisfaction is an important indicator to create happiness, most people think nothing is more important than to make a living.