Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, the role of women has been promoted thanks to gender equality. However, it is a noticeable fact that higher positions in firms are still managed by men even though there are more than half of the employees are women. There is a question about whether there should be reserved some portion of them to females or not. I partly agree with this view. On the one hand, having female leaders can bring some advantages to enterprises. First, in comparison with men, they have the same or even better qualities to be a good manager, such as communicating or solving problems. According to recent research, companies with both males and females in management create a more supportive and pleasant environment for their employees than companies with just male leaders. Furthermore, knowing that a certain per cent of higher positions is reserved for them can actually be an inspiration for female employees to dedicate their time and effort, and go the extra mile to achieve goals. However, reserving positions can have its fair share of disadvantages too. It should be emphasized that the main aim of the company is to earn profit rather than allocating the males and females. To be more specific, when appointing someone to a position, the company board just only considers the experience, skills, and qualifications of candidates, not gender. Therefore, if a certain number of managerial positions are reserved for women, it forces companies to fulfil these positions with unsuitable female staff, even though it may be to their detriment. In conclusion, success hides in talents but not in gender. Consequently, instead of giving preference to sexes, it should be better when offering opportunities to the most talented and suitable people.