Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions diverge greatly on how to tackle traffic congestion. Although constructing more railways and subway lines partly solves the problem, I would argue that the government should allocate their financial resources to widen roads. On the one hand, I understand why some people think that having more train and subway lines built could tackle congested roads. First, this mode of transportation would alleviate the current travelling overload because it decrease the increased number of daily travelers on main streets in either city centers or suburbs. There would be less people on street during rush hours because trains or subways are able to carry hundreds of passengers at the same time. Second, rail transportation systems are established separately from other systems or, sometimes, outside crowded city areas, and this relieves the density of passengers on public vehicles, hence reducing congestions caused by those means of transportation. On the other hand, I would side with those who think that the mentioned investment on railroads or subway lines is only temporary and less effective than improving the size of roads and streets. Traffic jam is attributable to the density of vehicles that exceeds the capacity of the current system. Increasing the size of roads would allow a higher volume of traffic and enable more vehicles, such as private cars or buses, to circulate smoothly. Also, expanding roads, although expensive and time-consuming, is believed to be a permanent solution to the situation of traffic jam. Private car owners are increasing in numbers owing to the enhancement of living standards, and they are unlikely to resort to trains or subways since using their own cars is much more convenient. Therefore, better railway systems only encourage a part of citizens to use this type of public transport. In conclusion, it appears to me state money should go to the expansion of road systems, while it is difficult to deny some provisional change brought by railroads or subway lines.