Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a lot of talks about subjects we should learn in school and the discussion becomes more and more significant. Some people call History the essential subject, which cannot be faded away, while others fight for Science and Technology as for the most important ones in modern digital world. On the one hand, it is quite hard to imagine a school without History in the schedule as we were told yeas by years about its importance. The main point devotees pay attention to is that history gives us useful and invaluable lessons, which are necessary for building strong and flourishing future. They believe in the wheel of history. It goes round and round, whereas people try not to repeat horrible mistakes of past. It is said that if we forget about them, we will repeat them over and over, planting nothing but wars and suffering. On the other hand, the modern world changes extremely fast and we need to stay up-to-date and keep in touch with it. Some people think that new technologies that appear almost every day define the rules of new society we live in. Consequently, we have to learn Science and Technologies from childhood and study these disciplines at school as well. For example, some years ago we used paper books and dictionaries for doing homework, however, nowadays children are more used to gadgets and computers and learn subjects via the Internet. In my opinion, all three subjects are of high importance. Nor History, neither Science or Technologies should be rejected from the school program. The new brave world, where artificial intelligence and virtual reality are no more writers’ dreams but the everyday routine, demands high knowledge of technologies. At the same time, it definitely has no chance to survive without essential values and lessons the history can give.