As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since most adults dedicate a significant amount of time at their workplace, job satisfaction is crucially important to the happiness of an individual. I believe that salaries, working environment and career enhancement opportunity are the key determinants to job satisfaction. However, with different occupations, expectations may still vary, and I think that satisfaction with jobs remains a distant dream for the majority of employees. To begin with, job satisfaction depends on several fitting reasons, like salaries, working environment and development prospects, for example. Firstly, wages play a predominant role in affecting job content. In simple words, money helps employees attain their basic needs. Besides, it is deemed a symbol of accomplishment as higher salaries reflect a higher degree of contribution to the organization. Secondly, the working environment also plays a crucial role in influencing job contentment. That is to say that employees need an atmosphere which is safe and healthy, and which caters to both personal comforts and is conducive to doing a good job. Last but not least, the potential for career advancement is another factor in a delightful career. This is because employees regard promotion as the ultimate achievement and when they get a promotion, they feel absolutely satisfied. However, it is quite impossible for all employees to be completely satisfied with their job and workplace. In fact, a high-paid job exerts an enormous amount of stress. An employee who comes under pressure to work longer hours will not be satisfied with the profession, whereas a flexible job that entertains executives’ passion likely has low salaries. It appears that human nature is the formidable challenge for employees to find satisfaction in their occupations. In conclusion, salaries, stimulating working environment and promotional chance are the major sources of job satisfaction but human traits are actually a great hindrance to working delight and job satisfaction for all is not possible.