oday we can see excessive consumption of natural resources such as air, fresh water, oil, and so on. The usage is increasing at a very dangerous pace and is already reaching critical levels. What are the reasons contributing to this? What should be done to minimize the effects?

The world in the 21st century is marked by the over-using resources that humans extract from nature for their demand in different aspects, leading to the risk of depletion of natural resources. The goal of this essay is to elaborate on the causes and outline some practical approaches to minimize this issue. As regards the causes, one of the primary factors giving rise to this issue is the dramatic increase in the number of humans on the Earth, requiring the excessive usage of electricity, water and other resources to meet the demand of their daily life. Equally noteworthy is the explanation that the lack of awareness in environmental protection results in the careless consumption of clean water and electricity, especially in rural areas where commuters seem to have less opportunity to adopt higher education. From a different angle, the third cause of this matter is the drastic development of technology, which greatly increases the speed of deforestation in comparison with the past when it took hours to cut down a tree with lots of saws and labours. Besides, the rising consumption of resources is derived from the consumerism culture, explained by the extraction of resources to produce unnecessary commodities like jewellery or diamond or several decorative items. Moreover, consumerism also poses the problem of using necessary commodities in an excessive amount of what is needed for their life, causing the waste of what they have. There may be various ways to address this situation, but the following suggestions can be substantially effective. Firstly, I believe the government should put some regulations to control overpopulation. This solution is being applied nationally by the authorities of several developing countries where the birth rates exceed the death rates, resulting in the striking spread of the population. For example, the Vietnam government has encouraged each family to have the maximum number of two children for nearly half of a decade, so that they could effectively handle the high density of population in recent years. Besides, other endeavours, such as raising the awareness of saving natural resources by imposing higher taxes on factories, production of which consumes natural resources including diamond production, wooden furniture industry and so on. Another measure that should be given equal consideration is concentrating on renewable energy. Due to the thrilling consumption of non-renewable energies, some are prone to become exhausted in the near future. Therefore, finding alternative resources which are naturally replenished on a human timescale including carbon-neutral sources like sunlight, wind, rain, tides, waves and other similar sources of useful and clean energies is a long-term method to deal with the high demand. Besides given solutions, people must take responsibility for planting the forest after cutting down them to get materials and lands for industrial, economic or agricultural purposes. To make people follow this measure to protect the natural resources, it is compulsory for the authority to impose regulations to enforce individuals and organizations upon the afforestation. In conclusion, the discussion above has pinpointed the main causes of this pressing problem. Personally, I believe that the authorities should accordingly have further considerations on the issue of natural resources ’ excessive consumption, and the suggested methods above can be of great help to alleviate the situation.