Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is a threat to human health. Hence, some people advocate a total ban on cigarettes and other related products. I agree that smoking should be restricted and that tobacco industry should be regulated. However, a total ban is too extreme because it will damage personal freedom and decrease tax revenue for the government. Admittedly, smoking is harmful to one’s health and should be restricted. It causes various health issues, damaging smokers’ resparatory and cardiovascular system. Morever, the second -hand smoke is equally bad to other people who are around the smokers. These health risks will not only create illness to individuals, but also add extra burden to public health system. Therefore, it is reasonable to discourage the behavior and limit the expansion of the tobacco industry. However, imposing a total ban on cigarettes and tobacco products is a damage to individual’s freedom. Smoking, like any other recreational activities, is a personal choice. One can be advised but should never be forced to lead a certain lifestyle. This is a basic human right. In addition, banning the tobacco products is going to eliminate a profitable sector, which contributes significantly to tax revenue for the government. Around the world, cigarettes are already being taxed heavily as a measure to discourage purchase. High amount of government revenue raised by these taxes is used to build infrastructures and maintain a health system, which benefit everyone including non-smokers. If these money were gone, government will face fiscal shortage and have to look for other sources of taxation, which may press other industries and sectors. In conclusion, smoking is not a good behavior and should be restricuted. But imposing a ban on the whole industry does not make sense. This will only damage human right and cause a serie of other problems for the government. I disagree this kind of extreme proposal.