As most most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. 1. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? 2. How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Working has played a major role in adulthood life. Most of us will have to spend at least eight hours a day, which is one- third of our lives, on our jobs, and our satisfaction in our jobs determine our well-being both mentally and physically. I believe that room for advancement and short working hours are the two main factors contributive to job satisfaction, and it is impossible for all workers to be happy at their work. Room for advancement and short working time is closely related to employees ' job satisfaction. When the employees know that they are able to learn and improve themselves on the job, chances are that they may be able to obtain promotions later in their careers. Because of this mentality, employees will be happier at work and will be more likely to treat each task with an optimistic mindset. Short working time, on the other hand, will help promote employees physical welfare. If the workers always have to work overtime, it is more likely for them to suffer from fatigue and illness. Short working hours, in contrast, ensures workers devote more time to self-care and even developing exercise routines, which will help them sustain healthier lifestyles and thus increase job satisfaction. Although the two aforesaid factors contribute to job satisfaction, it is unrealistic for all employees to be satisfied with their jobs. As people have different intellectual backgrounds and productivity levels, advancement opportunities and required working time vary with each individual. Some employees may not possess the attributes that their employers want to advance or promote; some may have to work long hours due to their less efficient work styles. These may all result in dissatisfaction with their jobs. In conclusion, room for advancement and short working time are two reasonable factors leading to a satisfactory job, though it is unrealistic for everyone in the workforce to be satisfied with the work that they undertake.