Nowadays, children watch a lot of tv and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has overtaken all the aspects of our daily life, including entertainment and our spare time. Moreover, it seems that more youngsters prefer spending their free time in front of the television and monitor playing video games. Therefore, many argue that this can potentially have a negative outcome on mental health. Even though I agree with this statement, this essay will discuss both views. First and foremost, in today’s world, stable mental health has become a very important aspect of our lives. For instance, many young children think they are sustaining it by doing the activities that they find calming. However, in a long term, after repetitive images that can be violent and disturbing, surveys have found that many kids tend to suffer from insomnia, depression because television and video games are offering them an easy life that is far from reality. Also, anger issues are on the rise. However, we should have not limited kids to videogames and watching television. For example, many social and clinical psychologists have proven that while playing video games children tend to develop special organizational, assertive, and leadership skills. Also, many kids use those platforms to educate themselves, even though they are in minority. All in all, technology has become an integral part of our life and therefore it is affecting the young ones. As much as they are advantages, the disadvantages have overweighed the advantages and there have been numerous findings that support the claim that video games and television eventually are not improving mental health, but are worsening it.