SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT DEVELOPED COUNTRIES HAVE A HIGHER RESPONSIBILITY TO COMBAT CLIMATE CHANGE THAN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES. OTHERS BELIEVE THAT ALL COUNTRIES SHOULD HAVE THE SAME RESPONSIBILITIES TOWARDS PROTECTING THE ENVIRONMENT. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Climate change is one of the biggest challenges faced by humankind. While some people advocate equal contribution from all nations to solve the issue, others think developed countries should be more accountable. In this essay, I will analyze both arguments and elaborate why I agree with the latter one. The main reason to hold developed nations accountable is that they have been both the biggest polluters and the biggest beneficiaries of global economic development in the past century. Since the second industrial revolution, these nations have quickly adopted industrialised production, used fossil fuel as energy source and started international trade. Significant economic success was achieved and tremendous wealth was accumulated, but carbon emissions from these activities were never challenged. If the past excessiveness has resulted in or accelerated global warming, it is reasonable to ask developed nations to bear the consequences and contribute more to tackle the issue. On the other side, some argue that developing countries are equally accountable because of their rapid growth and big scale of pollution in the recent decade. For instance, the biggest three developing countries, China, India and Brazil, emit large proportion of carbon dioxide. Admittedly, these countries should curb pollution they are producing and opt faster to a more sustainable growth model so that they would not deteriorate environmental problems. When being asked to limit carbon emissions, they should do their parts. Nevertheless, it is still not fair to ask for same contribution from these nations as from the developed world without considering the historical context. To conclude, every state should make efforts slow down the climate change. However, contribution from each country may vary and should be weighed according to pollution produced in the past. In this measurement, the developed countries should bear bigger responsibility.