There are many female students who finish degrees in science and technology courses at university, but few move into the workplace after they graduate. Why is this? What measures can be taken to encourage them into work? Situation

Women have lots of challenges when it comes to working in the field of technology and science after graduation. This essay will explore some of the reasons for this trend and some solutions will be suggested. To begin with, female students, in general, have more responsibilities as oppose to their male counterparts. One of those duties is having to raise their kids. Sometimes family comes first and a woman has to take some time off to take care of her newborn child. In fact, historically speaking, the primary role of a female was always to put her family duties first. Sometimes, it takes years for a woman to decide to go back to work due to her motherhood duty. Also, in some part of the world, after marriage woman can not go back to work and should stay home and take care of her kids due to cultural beliefs. Thus, it is harder for a woman to go back to work after graduation if she is married and has parental duties. Furthermore, in some area, employment opportunities are more available for males due to the same belief by employers. To tackle this problem and provide more work opportunities for female graduates and make them contribute to the workplaces, we should increase the duration of maternity leaves and increase part-time positions for women in order to make their lives easier, Also employers should be more flexible and understanding in terms of being non-judgemental and gender-neutral when it comes to hiring. To sum up, it has been shown that only a few female graduates of science and technology are getting into workplaces due to having other more important duties at home plus some social barriers. To curb this trend, society has to be more open and flexible and let women be comfortable going back to work after graduation.