A “cashless society” is one where people use debit/credit cards and other forms of payment. Do the advantages of a cashless society outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying that paperless transaction is getting popular all over the world due to its paramount importance. Due to this, there is a list of positive impacts, although, some people may have some contradictory views regarding the same, which will be discussed in this essay. Due to the advancement in technology, economy is booming at a higher rate. For instance, people can make various transactions during one day, just by using their debit or credit cards. The pins used in the cards act like an account number and password, so that they can purchase or sell goods from anywhere across the world. Secondly, these modes of transacting money can pave way to a faster, reliable and secure banking world. If these methods are adopted, then the society can refrain from withdrawing cash and thereby reducing time and efforts. On the paradoxical side, there are less developed places where people either do not understand how to make use of these cards or the technology is not yet developed. Hence, people prefer traditional methods like using cash or a cheque to purchase goods. For instance, farmers in the developing countries still use barter or cash system to make a transaction rather than these advanced means. To encapsulate these issues, without any doubt, I feel that the advantages of a cashless era overtakes the negative parts because of the aforementioned reasons. Although, people and governments are spreading awareness to encourage citizens to make use of cards and other means of modern technology to help the society grow.