Traffic and accommodation problems are increasing and government should encourage some businesses to move from cities to rural areas. Does the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued by some that governments should persuade companies to relocate from cities to rural areas in order to solve the growing problems of traffic and accommodation. This essay believes that despite the fact that cities might lose a significant amount of money and that pollution levels will potentialy increase, the benefits of this trend, such as less traffic jams and lower real estate prices in cities, outweigh its drawbacks. The departure of large syndicates from cities would eliminate traffic jams. The majority of workers use their private cars in order to arrive at their workplace, so if a smaller number of companies will be situated inside the city, as a consequnce less people will enter the city with their vehicle. For example, an individual who works in a factory outside the city will not have the need to enter the city with his or hers car. In addition, another advantage would be a decrease in apartments’ price. If a smaller number of people will work in the city, the demand for apartments will fall, and as a consequence also the real estate prices. For instance, during the Covid pandemic a great number of citizens left the city where I live and the rental prices have dropped. On the other hand, an increased amount of air pollution could be created. This is simply because employees that will continue to live in the city will drive their car for longer periods of time and will eventually cause more pollution. Furthermore, cities might lose a major amount of money. Companies are a major source of income for cities, due to the high taxes they pay. For example, in Tel-Aviv where I currently live, it is estimated that businesses’ taxes comprised for approxiamtely 30% of the total city's income. In conclusion, in my opinion, the advantages of companies moving to rural areas, which includes less traffic jams and lower price of flats and houses, outweigh its disadvantages.