Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is stated that individual ways of spending their spare time vary continuously, which mostly depends on what is currently trending, not on what they originally want to do in their free time. I firmly agree with this, as people tend to get attracted more to new trends. I will further discuss more aspects related to this statement. Nowadays, there can be seen a continuous change of fashion and people following them. There are many aspects related to it, in which, some of the major are as follows. Most of all, social sites play a major role in making anything popular by showing attractive advertisements that easily attract one's attention. For example, Snapchat is a social site that gains the attention of people with its exciting filters. Moreover, it has become an addiction for many to pass their time on it. Another reason to adapt to changing trends can be your friend and the community in which you move. If your friends are always talking about a certain thing or a game, you will also start having an interest in it. For example, there was a game called pubg that was at topmost trending to get attracted by many friends of mine. Therefore, those who even don't like to play games start playing them, just for the sake of following the trend. In conclusion, it is said that hobbies change with stages and the trends have the main impact on this. I totally agree with this, as public preferences change quite often mainly due to the fact that they become obsolete and something else gain attention. Moreover, your company and friends have a great impact on this, as by listening about a certain thing every day from them you also want to experience it in order to be up-to-date.