Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Nowadays employers are meticulous in designing the reward and recognition programs for their staff, which can include provision of additional money in the form of incentives. This can surely a moral booster for employees. This strategy can have multiple pros and cons. High work pressure industries like insurance, financial management firms can rip great benefits through the provision of incentives. Since, salaries in such industries are low. Incentivising extraordinary contributions can be an efficient management strategy. Employers primarily working on product or technology development will surely be less prone to opt for reward strategy considering the highly paid employees. Such employers will more focus on recognizing extraordinary contributors in right manner, leading to effective team bonding. This will have an additional benefit of negating the adverse impact on other collegues colleges. Employer sponsored team outing can be a better way to encourage employees not only for hard work but also smartly establish a good trust factor among collegues. Employees will surely feel motivated about reapeating the exceptional performance. This will also help to build better work relationships, which is an intangible benefit.

of online reward point system can be an innovative way to encourage good performances and will be appealing to today’s technology savvy employees. For great contributions managers can allocate reward points to employees, which they can redeem on various e-commerce websites. In a nutshell, today’s employers can weigh the benefits and disadvantages of providing incentives to employees for their best contribution based on the business model and needs of the staff.